All material subject to strictly enforced copyright laws. © 2022 Euromoney Institutional Investor PLC group

The Fifth Estate

The traditional classification of societal roles places the clergy, nobility and commoners as the First, Second and Third Estates, respectively. The press was later commonly acknowledged as the Fourth Estate. But what class of society might comprise the Fifth Estate? Events this past week suggest that it could be investors or central banks.

Unlock this article.

The content you are trying to view is exclusive to our subscribers.

To unlock this article:

Take a Free Trial or Login
We use cookies to provide a personalized site experience.
By continuing to use & browse the site you agree to our Privacy Policy.
I agree